How to Switch Hosting to Alentus

How to Make Your Switch to Alentus Easy

1. Set up your new account with Alentus
- Talk to a Customer Service representative via telephone, email or live chat to determine your personal combination.
- Place your order via the online order form. Once your account is set-up you will receive a Welcome Kit email with all of the information for your new service.

2. Download your website files and data to a local location
- Create a backup of your website files and data on a local server or computer location.
- Once your current web hosting services are closed, your files and data will be inaccessible. It is crucial that you create a backup in order to move your files.

3. Upload your website files and data to the new server with Alentus
- The same website files and data that were backed up, need to be uploaded to the new sever.
- These files can be uploaded through a variety of FTP (File Transfer Protocol) services.

4. Check links, files & set-up email accounts
- It is wise after a website move that the new site should be checked for possible "bumps & bruises" during the move.
- It's not uncommon for settings on the new server to differ from the previous one, which can affect how your website functions.
- It is also a great time to proofread for dead links and make adjustments to the site before it is live in its new location.

5. Change DNS (Domain Name Services) Record
- The registrar of your domain name needs to know where you're changing your site's location to. Change your DNS Record Change through them.
- Once the change has been made, you may receive an email from your registrar letting you know that the DNS record has been successfully changed, and the new DNS record has begun to propagate across the internet.

6. Monitor the DNS change (DNS propagation)
- It takes time for the DNS servers across the internet and around the globe to update the new record for your domain pointing.
- The change can take up to 48 hours.
- The best way to monitor the change is to perform a "WHOIS" lookup. Once the change has occurred, the new DNS setting will be registered with your Alentus DNS settings.

7. Cancel your old web hosting account
- It is best to be certain that the DNS has propagated completely before cancelling your old web hosting account.
- The earliest this will be done is 48 hours after your DNS record has been changed.

Add Feedback